Pakistan squad against New Zealand to be announced tomorrow
Pakistan squad against New Zealand to be announced tomorrow
Web Desk

Lahore: Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chairman Mohsin Naqvi said that the squad for the series against New Zealand will be announced tomorrow (Tuesday).

Speaking to the media in Lahore, Mohsin Naqvi confirmed that Usman Khan of the United Arab Emirates (UAE) is being considered for selection and will be part of the national squad.

The PCB chairman’s announcement comes at a time when Usman Khan, who made his place in the ninth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL), was last week banned by the UAE Cricket Board for breach of contract and playing for Gulf. The cricketer was banned for five years for misrepresenting his decision.

In addition, Mohsin Naqvi stated that the Pakistan squad for the five-match T20 series against New Zealand on April 18 will be announced tomorrow on April 9. While, the foreign coaches will be decided by April 14.

It is pertinent to note that coaching matters were settled with Gary Kirsten and Jason Gillespie of the Pakistan Cricket Board.

It is reported that Gary Kirsten will be the head coach of White Ball while Jason Gillespie will be the head coach of Red Ball, but it has not been officially announced yet.

Chairman PCB Mohsin Naqvi also assured that the Champions Trophy 2025 will be hosted by Pakistan.

He said that the matter of Indian team coming to Pakistan or not is premature, teams from outside will also come to Pakistan and the Champions Trophy will be held in Pakistan.

Notably, the International Cricket Council (ICC) Champions Trophy is scheduled for February 2025.

It should also be noted that the series of five T20 matches between Pakistan and New Zealand will start from April 18 for which the Kiwis will leave for Pakistan on April 12.

Michael Bracewell, Finn Allen, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Dan Foxcroft, Ben Lister, Cole McConaughey, Adam Milne, Jimmy Nesham, Will Overke, Tim Robinson, Ben Sears, Tim Seifert, Ash Sodhi