PML factions unite on candidate; PMAP, National Party part ways

Published on – January 13, 2018 – 2:50 am

QUETTA: The Balochistan Assembly is set to elect Mir Abdul Quddus Bizenjo, a member of the PML-Q, as the new Leader of the House on Saturday forenoon.

QUETTA: The Balochistan Assembly is set to elect Mir Abdul Quddus Bizenjo, a member of the PML-Q, as the new Leader of the House on Saturday forenoon.

It is definite that Mr. Bizenjo will be the new Chief Minister of Balochistan, as more Muslim Leaguers had announced their decision to support him against the PMAP nominee, presumably Syed Liaquat Agha.

Two MPAs belonging from the PMAP had filed nomination papers for the Leader of the House and they are Mr. Liaquat Agha and Mr. Abdul Rahim Ziaratwal who is also leader of the PMAP Parliamentary Party.

Both the Opposition and two PML factions from the treasury Benches had extended their support to Mr. Bizenjo as the new Chief Minister. In a way, the PML factions had reunited after a brief break and now they had joined hand to elect a new leader after Nawab Sanaullah Zehri tendered his resignation after filing a no confidence motion.

MPAs loyal to PML-N had lately decided their decision to support Mr. Bizenjo. In all they were six MPAs and they were approached by their friends in ex-coalition Government to join hands.

Finding no option and in absence an accord with other allies, they joined the dissidents in forming a new Government. The formal announcement to this affect came after the group held a meeting under the leadership of Sardar Dur Mohammad Nasir and there were some difference of opinion among the coalition partners leaving the only option to join the erstwhile treasury benches rejecting a similar offer from the PMAP.

One of the erstwhile coalition partners, the National Party, had opted in favour of the independent benches as most of its members were disgusted in absence of a political understanding among the former allies.

The other coalition partner, the PMAP, had decided to confront the former allies by putting their own nominee for leader of the house. The PMAP had filed two names for the post of the Chief Minister and they are Liaquat Agha and Mr. Rahim Ziaratwal who is also Parliamentary Party leader of PMAP.

Popularity of the PMAP is strictly confined to within the party fold and no outsider is expected to cast his vote in favour of the PMAP nominee for the Chief Ministership.  The PMAP had 14 MPAs in the house of 65 members.

Nawab Sanaullah Zehri is not expected to return and cast his vote in the present political climate prevailing in Balochistan. Both factions of the PML had said that they pay due respect to Nawab Sanaullah Zehri and they will refrain from highlighting his shortcomings in the past. Similarly, Speaker will preside over the session and may not exercise her vote as the possible results are obvious.

In the meantime, the local administration had adopted strict security measures while the Balochistan Assembly will be electing a new leader. Thousands of policemen had been deployed around the Assembly hall and many surrounding roads are sealed for regular traffic.

Mr. Razak Cheema, the Quetta Police Chief, confirmed the closure of most of the surrounding roads near the Balochistan Assembly and specifically for security reasons.